Post-Travel Breakfast: Baked Eggs

IMG_3458

Why, hello there! Sorry for going MIA again. It’s beginning to turn into a talent, if I do say so myself.

So what have I been up to for the past few weeks? Well, let’s see:

  1. I finished my scholarly note. For those of you with a law student in your lives, you are probably well-aware that this behemoth of a legal paper is the bane of our existence. That being said, it felt incredibly rewarding when I turned in that thing. After massive amounts of editing, restructuring, then restructuring my restructuring, I was actually somewhat proud of the finished product–in that it contained at least one intelligible sentence. I consider that a success, don’t you?
  2. I caught the plague! There was no Easter celebration at our house this year. Yours truly came down with the stomach bug from hell within 24-hours of reaching my mom’s house. I couldn’t keep anything down for two-and-a-half days. I’ll spare you the details, but  know that I ruined everyone’s holiday. May it never be said that I lack impeccable timing. I didn’t know it was possible to subsist on a diet of soup and Gatorade for as long as I did, but I managed. On the plus side, I am now back to eating normal food.
  3. I took the MPRE. That is all I will ever say on that matter.
  4. I’ve been out of town. After weeks of prep, I spent the larger part of the past week traveling with my clinic to Jamaica. While we didn’t have much downtime, I did take pictures of food and will post them as soon as they are developed (i.e. once I use up the rest of the pics on the disposable camera). Jamaican cuisine is delicious, and this trip reignited my love of scotch bonnet peppers.

So that’s what I’ve been up to over the past few weeks. I’m a bit tired, but feeling accomplished–especially given how well the trip went.

Whenever I get back from a trip, I like to make myself a decent breakfast the next day. Sunday was no different. Eggs have been on my mind lately.  They’ve always been one of my favorite foods, but I tend to forget how wonderful they are. After a full day of traveling, nothing quite screams satisfaction like some runny eggs. This breakfast actually comes together quickly and is easily modified to serve a crowd or to incorporate whatever is lying around the fridge. Happy eating!

Baked Eggs with Mushrooms and Shallots
Be forewarned, these are spicy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 7-8 button mushrooms, rinsed and/or peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1 large shallot, minced
  • Pinch of coarse salt
  • ¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • Scant ½ teaspoon dried thyme
  • ¼ teaspoon Pickapeppa sauce
  • ½ teaspoon Siracha sauce
  • 2 teaspoons shredded cheese
  • 2 eggs

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • In a small saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat.
  • Add the shallots and cook for 1-2 minutes–until they are soft.
  • Add the mushrooms, salt, pepper flakes, and thyme. Cook for 5-10 minutes, until cooked down and just starting to brown.
  • Transfer to an oven safe bowl. Drizzle mushrooms with Pickapeppa sauce and Siracha.
  • Sprinkle with cheese.

IMG_3456

  • Crack eggs and place on top of mushrooms, cheese, etc.

IMG_3457

  • Place bowl on a baking sheet and transfer to the oven.
  • Bake for 15 minutes until egg whites are set. You may want to cover with a piece of foil if the egg yolks start to cook too much.
  • Serve hot.

IMG_3459

Serves one.


Leave a comment