Mexican Wedding Cookies

IMG_3467

2L classes have finally come to an end. It’s amazing how quickly this semester has flown by. In honor of the last day of class, I made some cookies for my clinic seminar on Monday. I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (I swear by the Williams-Sonoma recipe) and, one of my personal favorites, Mexican Wedding Cookies (also known as polvorones).

I’ve been making variations of these cookies since I was in high school. Personally, I like the traditional version, but know that you can easily switch things up and satisfy even the pickiest of eaters. By making some substitutions, these can be transformed into a nut-free and/or dairy-free treat. I’ve tried many a recipe, but these have definitely become my favorite. They are soft and easy to make, plus no fancy equipment required (alway a win in my book).

My fellow tastetester, Jocelyn!

Also, Happy Birthday to my dear friend Jocelyn who puts up with my crazy shenanigans, accompanies me on random restaurant outings, humors (and tastes) my cooking experiments, listens to my life rants, helped me fight mice in my last apartment, willingly subjects herself to appearances on this blog, and is just a lovely person all around. Happy Birthday, Joss!! <3s you!

Happy eating!

Mexican Wedding Cookies
Today’s version was only slightly modified from Pati’s Mexican Table

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • ½ cup vegetable shortening
  • ½ cup walnuts, extremely finely chopped or ground (the nuts should resemble coarse meal)
  • ¾ cup confectioner’s sugar + more for rolling
  • 1 egg

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • In a small bowl, mix together the ground nuts and ¾ cup confectioner’s sugar. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, whisk together the flour and salt.
  • Add the shortening and butter to the flour mixture. Using your hands, mix in the shortening and butter until they are mixed in and there are only pea-shaped pieces remaining.

IMG_3462

  • Add the egg. Using a spoon or your hands (I started with a spoon, then switched to hands), mix until the egg is incorporated. Do not over mix. You just want this to form a homogenous dough. Over-mixing will result in a flat/spread out cookie.

IMG_3463

  • Use scant tablespoons of dough to form balls. Place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet about 2-inches apart.
IMG_3464

Please ignore the gross pan.

  • Bake for 15 minutes until the cookies are slightly golden. Remove from the oven. Cool for 2 minutes on the cookie sheet, then transfer to a rack to finish cooling. Repeat with the remaining dough.
  • When the cookies are almost completely cooled (you still want them to be slightly warm to the touch), roll in powdered sugar. You can also just dust them, but my policy with these cookies is the more the merrier.
Also ignore the chipped nails.

Also ignore the chipped nails.

Makes 30-36 cookies.

After all, you're really here for the cookies.

After all, you’re really here for the cookies.

Leave a Reply

