Blueberry Cream Scones

photo_1

Oh hey there blogosphere.

Apparently, I decided to take an extended vacation from blogging. The sad thing is that I don’t really have an excuse. Posting kept being pushed back with another, “I’ll do that next week,” or, “I’m too tired to write tonight,” or, perhaps even worse, “That’s not blog-worthy.” Fail, Rosemary, fail.

The other sad thing is that it’s not like I haven’t been cooking. I have so many pictures of food it’s unhealthy. I’m totally that hipster who only takes pictures of food–but I don’t post them to Instagram or a tumblr. I’m like the not-cool, cool kid. Whoops.

So today marks my return to blogging. And I bring you some blueberry scones as a peace offering. These were absolutely delicious. I LOVE scones. Love them. They take about ten minutes to put together, fifteen minutes to bake, and the reward is amazing. These scones are a good mix of flaky and fluffy (is that weird?), and they taste great the next day. I personally like them slightly warm so the berry juice gets flowing, but they taste just as good at room temperature.

Happy Eating!

Blueberry Cream Scones
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen. I really like blueberries, so I used a lot, but feel free to alter based on your preferences.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups (unbleached) AP flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • ½ teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 1 heaping tablespoon lemon zest
  • 5 tablespoons chilled, unsalted butter, cut into small cubes
  • ¾ cup fresh blueberries
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit, with the rack in the middle position. I realized I never indicate the ideal oven rack position on recipes because I assume everyone’s default is the middle, but I’ve been told not to assume things in life so I’ma stop doing that.
  • In a large bowl, whisk together your flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, and lemon zest.
  • Using a pastry blender or your fingertips (we’re low-tech over here), quickly cut the butter into the flour mixture until it resembles coarse corn meal. If using your fingers, try to work as quickly as possible so as not to melt the butter too much. There should still be a few lumps in there.
  • You need to be pretty gentle with these next few steps: Toss in the blueberries, making sure they are evenly distributed and coated in the flour mixture.
  • Fold in the heavy cream with a rubber spatula, being careful not to break up the berries. If you have a few that pop (I did) it’s ok; you’ll just have a patch of blue scone.
  • Transfer the dough to a floured board or countertop and bring together in a rough ball. It should still be pretty sticky, and you don’t want to work the dough too much b/c of the blueberries. We’re really just looking for a cohesive mass with no remnant floury bits.
  • Form your scones: you can do this in a few ways:

(1) Pat the dough into an 8- or 9-inch circle that is about 1 to 3/4 inches thick. Cut into 8 wedges and transfer to an ungreased baking sheet.

(2) Pat the dough into an 8-inch cake pan, turn it out onto a floured surface and repeat the cutting into 8 wedges/transferring bit.

(3) Pat the dough into the ring part of your 9-inch springform pan. Remove the ring, cut into wedges, transfer.

photo

  • Bake the scones for 12 to 15 minutes, until lightly golden on top.
  • Serve warm or at room temperature.

Serves 8.

Leave a Reply

