Tortellini Pesto Salad

photo-4

Remember that time I had a food blog that got put on the back burner first during exams and then while I let my mother feed me over break? Yeah, I do. Sorry ’bout that. Blogger fail. BUT one of resolutions this year is to be better about blogging. That and keeping my “to do” lists organized in a Moleskine journal. Oh, and to pack my lunch more often. Don’t worry, I have already put all of these on a “to do” list.

Anyway, let’s work on two of those, shall we? Today, I bring you a tortellini salad that takes about as long to make as it does to boil some pasta. It features some colorful vegetables–which I think is what most people are hoping to add to their diet around this time of year. The best part, however, is that this salad incorporates my favorite condiment at the moment: red pesto. Made from sun-dried tomatoes, cashews, and some quality olive oil, I first fell in love with it while studying abroad and rediscovered it after picking up a jar from Eataly this past summer. My friend Amanda was kind enough to replenish my stock and to grab a jar of my favorite brand on her last trip to NYC (I have the greatest friends ever). I have yet to make my own, but something tells me that attempt is right down the road.

Happy Eating!

Tortellini Pesto Salad

Ingredients:

  • ½ lb dried cheese tortellini
  • ½ red bell pepper, finely diced
  • ½ shallot, finely minced
  • 1 stalk celery, finely diced
  • ½ large or 1 average carrot, finely diced
  • 2 tablespoons red pesto
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • pinch of salt
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped Italian parsley
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano

Directions:

  • Cook tortellini according to package directions. Reserve 2 tablespoons of cooking water, then drain. Rinse quickly under cold water.
  • In a large bowl, stir together the pesto, balsamic vinegar, salt, and a tablespoon of the pasta water. Add remaining ingredients. Toss until everything is coated in the dressing, adding the remaining tablespoon of pasta water if necessary.
  • Serve at room temperature or cold.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

