Chai-Spiced Sugar Cookies

When I moved home for the summer, I brought back a ton of pantry staples. Spices, vinegars, baking supplies, tea–it was as though a mini mart moved into my mother’s house. One of the things that came back with me was my supply of Trader Joe’s Spicy Chai Latte Powder. Being Indian, I naturally have a thing for chai. It’s in my blood. So when I was looking for a new, non-chocolately (is that a word?) baked good to try, I thought it might be nice to find a way to use some of my stock.

I came across this recipe for  chai-spiced cookies and had to give it a try. The result is a soft cookie, reminiscent of snickerdoodles but with a stronger spicy kick. The original recipe calls for a few traditional spices and flavors, but I took the easy route and used ¼ cup of the chai latte powder. These were a big hit at the office and, according to my colleagues, taste great dunked in coffee. Happy eating!

Chai Spiced Sugar Cookies
Adapted from My Baking Addiction

Ingredients:

  • 2¾ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1¾ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup chai latte powder (OR 2½ teaspoons cinnamon, 1 teaspoon ground ginger, 1 teaspoon cardamom, ½ teaspoon ground allspice, ¼ teaspoon ground black pepper)
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, combine the sugar and chai latte mix (or, conversely, the spices listed above). Set aside ¼ cup of the sugar-spice mix.
  • Add the softened butter and beat until fluffy. Then, beat in the egg and vanilla.
  • Beat in the flour mixture (I found this worked best by adding one-third at a time) until just incorporated.
  • Roll dough into 1-inch balls.
  • Roll each dough ball in the reserved sugar-spice mix. Place about 2-inches apart on a baking sheet.
  • Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in preheated oven until the bottom is just lightly browned. Allow to cool for a minute, then transfer to rack to finish cooling.

Makes 3 dozen.

Leave a Reply

