Stuffed Zucchini Blossoms

I love going to the farmers market. It’s always wonderful seeing the assortment of vegetables and fruits that change throughout the season and often vary from week to week. If I had my way, I’d be able to stroll through a different market every day of the week. While that’s theoretically feasible, those little things called “work,” “school,” and–my least favorite–“budget” make it practically impossible. So when I get the time to go, I tend to indulge.

These were so pretty–had to pick some up for my mom!

One of my favorite things to eat is a zucchini blossom. Incredibly delicate with a mild zucchini flavor, these flowers capture the best of summer. I was first introduced to them through my host family in Italy, and I now spend my summer trips to the farmers market crossing my fingers that they are in stock.

Zucchini Blossoms

If you do find some, be sure to make them the day of. They have an incredibly short shelf life. Preparing zucchini blossoms is also pretty easy. Simply make a slit in one side of the blossom, remove the stamen, and wipe the inside and the outside with a damp paper towel. At that point, you are ready to stuff them with whatever you want, batter them, and pan fry ’em up!

Here’s hoping that there are still zucchini blossoms at your farmers market. Happy eating!

Stuffed Zucchini Blossoms
A few things: (1) Use a dry mozzarella. Yes, the cheap stuff in the dairy aisle next to the shredded cheese. Otherwise, these will turn out soggy. (2) Avoid using a dark beer for the batter. Stout, etc. might be delicious, but you don’t want to overpower the taste of the zucchini flowers. Conversely, if you don’t want a beer batter, use seltzer.

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz mozzarella, cut into ¼-inch by 1½-inch planks
  • 2 tablespoons Herbes de Provence or Italian seasoning
  • 25 zucchini blossoms
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • ½-¾ bottle beer (I used Corona because that’s what I had; avoid using stout/dark beers)
  • ¼-½ cup water
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • Olive oil or canola oil to fry

Directions:

  • First, roll the cheese planks in the dried herbs. Set aside.

  • Next, prepare your blossoms. Make a slit down one side of the flower, remove the stamen, wipe with a lightly dampened paper towel and repeat with the remaining flowers.

  • Insert a piece of the herb-coated cheese into each flower.
  • Then, prepare your batter. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and pepper. Slowly whisk in your beer and water (I’ve found alternating between the two yields the smoothest batter). It should be the consistency of a thin pancake-batter. Set aside.

  • Dip the zucchini blossoms into the batter, allowing excess batter to drain off.
  • In a frying pan over high heat, heat ¼-inch of oil. *Side note: I was dumb and failed to use a cast iron skillet. Use one if you have one. These are at serious risk of sticking otherwise.
  • When the oil is hot, pan fry a few blossoms at a time, turning after about 2 minutes.

Like I said, use a cast iron skillet…

  • Drain on paper towels.
  • Serve warm.

 

Leave a Reply

