Basil-Goat Cheese Flatbreads

Life sometimes does this thing where it overwhelms you.

First, there were finals.

Then, I started my internship.

Then, Liz graduated from med school (that’s right folks–she’s a real doctor now!).

Then, we had a series of major family events.

Then, my summer class started.

Add to that some great summer cookouts with friends (thanks, Thrasher!) and, somewhere, between all of this, I forgot to blog. Oops. It isn’t that I haven’t been cooking. It’s just that nothing I’ve cooked has been particularly different from things that I have already posted. I’m hoping my “dinspiration” returns once I’ve turned in my brief this week.

I made these flatbreads a while back as a pregame appetizer for Barrister’s Ball. I can’t recall where I saw description of these (I suspect it was on The Kitchn), but I decided instantly that I had to make them. They are simple to make, and they’d make a great addition to the spread at a cookout or summer dinner party. Caramelizing the onions always takes the longest, so be sure to give yourself ample time to complete that step.

Happy eating!

Basil-Goat Cheese Flatbreads
I wound up baking most of these with the basil on them and realized towards the end that I preferred adding the basil after baking the rest of the flatbread. The recipe reflects this, but feel free to do whatever tastes best to you.

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 tablespoons good quality olive oil
  • 3 lbs onions
  • 1 sprig fresh thyme
  • 2 tablespoons kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 10 Naan or comparable store-bought flat-bread
  • 2 cups fresh basil
  • 6 oz fresh goat cheese

Directions:

  • First, chop your onions. Cut each onion in half, then into 1/4-inch thick slices.
  • In a heavy-bottom pot, heat your olive oil over medium heat. Use more or less depending on the size of your onions. Sprinkle with salt and sugar and add the leaves from your sprig of thyme.
  • Cook on medium-low heat, stirring occasionally. After about ten minutes, the onions should have softened and the sugars should just be starting to caramelize. Add half of your white wine. Stir the onions and scrape up any of the fond (caramelized residue) that has developed on the bottom of the pot.
  • Keep cooking the onions, stirring every few minutes. Deglaze the pan with the remaining wine after  10 to 15 minutes, scraping up the fond. Continue stirring and cooking until the onions have reached a deep caramel color–about 5 more minutes. Remove from the heat.
  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Place two to three Naan on a lined cookie sheet. Top with a heaping 1/8-cup of the onions and a few dollops of goat cheese. Bake for 5 to 8 minutes, until the bread is warm and the cheese has just started to melt. Remove from the oven and top with 2 tablespoons of freshly torn or chopped basil.
  • Repeat with the remaining ingredients. Cut each flatbread into eighths. Serve warm.

Serves 15+ as an appetizer.

Leave a Reply

