Make Ahead Meal: Potstickers

I’m just about halfway through my second semester of law school, and I know that the madness of outlining and finals is about to pick up. As a result, I’ve been making more meals that I can freeze for later in the semester. After the dismal eating season known as first semester finals, I’ve realized that I really need to plan ahead so that I have some semblance of a balanced diet–even if I’m completely lacking on sleep. I’m already benefitting from this plan; while this last brief did require some takeout, I was still able to pull things from my freezer for a quick lunch on more than one occasion!

Now, I love potstickers. While I could buy some from the store,  I’ve taken to making my own. They are actually really easy and a lot of fun to make. Pretty much every grocery store carries wonton wrappers (usually found near the tofu). Since I live by myself, I have no need for an entire head of cabbage; my solution this time was to buy a pack of “coleslaw” mix from Whole Foods, which worked really well. It had the perfect amount of carrots and cabbage, and you can pick a packet based on how much filling you want.

To freeze the potstickers, just fill the wonton wrappers and lay on a baking sheet. Freeze for a few hours, then place into freezer bags. Once assembled, they take only a few minutes to cook through and are great served aside a salad or some roasted vegetables. I’m posting a more traditional filling today and will post another later this week. Happy eating!

Pork and Cabbage Potstickers
Feel free to play around with the filling. I just use whatever I have on hand or is cheapest at the grocery store!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb cabbage, shredded (this is about 1/4 head of cabbage)
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1/2 lb ground pork
  • 2-3 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  • Sesame oil to drizzle
  • 24-30 wonton wrappers

Directions

  • In a large nonstick skillet over medium heat, heat your canola oil. Add your onion and garlic and allowed to soften (about 2 minutes).
  • Add in the pork and break up with a wooden spoon. Cook until almost entirely not-pink (about 5 minutes).
  • Add 1 tablespoon soy sauce and stir.
  • Raise the heat to medium-high and add in your cabbage and carrots. Quickly stir so that the cabbage and carrots are in contact with the pan and not just sitting on top of the meat. Allow to cook, stirring occasionally, until the cabbage and carrots have wilted and reduced by about half.
  • Add in your remaining soy sauce and drizzle with the sesame oil. Toss to coat and remove from the heat. Allow to cool completely. You can also make the filling the night before.
  • When the filling has cooled, take your wonton wrappers. Cover the stack with a towel or leave them in the package while you are working so they don’t dry out.
  • I had square wonton wrappers (which are usually the most easily found in grocery stores), so place the wrapper in front of you so it looks like a diamond. Place a  tablespoon of filling in the center of the wrapper. At this point, I usually shape it a bit so that there is a little more filling in the center and it kind of tapers out at the ends of your mound.
  • Using some water, lighten moisten the top edges of your wonton. Fold in half, pinching the edges to ensure that they are sealed.
  • At this point, you can lay the potsticker on a parchment lined baking sheet and keep working until you’ve used up all of your filling. If you intend to freeze them, make sure they are in a single layer on the baking sheet and transfer to the freezer. Freeze for a couple of hours (or overnight if you forget like I do), then transfer to bags.
  • To cook either fresh or frozen potstickers, heat a little bit of oil in a nonstick skillet over medium-high. Add in your potstickers and cook until the bottom is golden. At that point, add just enough water to cover the bottom of the pan. Immediately cover and cook until the potstickers are steamed through. This only takes about 2 minutes for fresh potstickers but can take up to 5 for the frozen ones.
  • You can tell they are done when the wonton wrappers are translucent.

Makes 24-30 potstickers.

4 responses to “Make Ahead Meal: Potstickers

Leave a Reply

