Breakfast Favorites

As mentioned, breakfast is one of my favorite meals of the day, but I sometimes find myself in a rut. I adore pancakes, french toast, oatmeal, breakfast burritos, and eggs in almost any form (I refuse to eat them smothered in hollandaise. Weird quirk. I know), and I’m always on the lookout for new breakfast recipes. So I thought I’d compile a list of some of my favorites as of late. If you have a great breakfast recipe, please post it in the comments! I could definitely use some inspiration (and incentive to get going) in the morning. Happy eating!

  • Breakfast burritos: Spinach, feta, tomatoes, and mushrooms make for a great “Greek-style” burrito on the run. Pesto, spinach, asparagus, and some Parm makes for a delicious Italian take. My favorite kinds of breakfast burritos, however, involve salsa. There’s something wonderful about the  the slight zing of cilantro and onions that takes a burrito to a whole new level. Just whisk in 1 to 2 tablespoons of your favorite salsa into a couple of eggs and quickly scramble on low heat. Wrap it up in a tortilla with a bit of cheddar cheese and, if you have time, some sauteed peppers and onions, and you are good to go!

  • Oatmeal: stir together 1/2 cup old fashioned oats with 3/4 to 1 cup almond milk or skim milk on medium heat. Cook for 5-8 minutes, toss in some fresh or frozen fruit (I prefer berries), stir and serve. So good for you and no extra sugar needed thanks to the almond milk and the fruit. If, however, you want some more sweetness, drizzle in a bit of maple syrup or honey!
  • Breakfast sammie: 1 egg over easy, topped with fresh spinach, sundried tomatoes, and a thin slice of your favorite cheese, all served on a toasted whole wheat English muffin. For a kick, add a squirt of siracha before closing up this sandwich!
  • Greens & Eggs: I imagine that this is healthier than Dr. Seuss’s infamous green eggs and ham.

  • Greek Yogurt Blueberry Pancakes: I use this recipe, substituting skim milk for the half-and-half and water. Super fluffy and delicious

  • Leftover frittata: This morning, I noshed on a slice of asparagus, zucchini, and caramelized onion frittata. Frittatas make for a simple dinner and easily reheat the following morning. Just cook whatever vegetables you like in a oven-friendly pan, whisk together some eggs (I used 4 for 1 dinner and 2 breakfasts), top with some cheese if you’d like, then cook on the stove until the edges have set. Transfer to a 350 degree oven to finish. The whole thing takes maybe 30 minutes (unless your oven is temperamental like mine).

Almost ready for the oven!

  • Fruit salad: Slice up some apples, bananas, berries, and segments of blood orange (only when in season, of course), toss with some of the juice from the blood orange, lemon juice, and maybe a bit of the zest. Add mint and check for sweetness. Allow to sit for a few minutes before eating. This can easily be put together the night before, I’d just hold off on adding the bananas until you intend to eat it! Also great when served atop some Greek yogurt!

Hope this gives you some breakfast-inspiration!

Leave a Reply

