Peanut Butter Blossoms

I hope that everyone had a very happy Thanksgiving! From roasted turkey to goat cheese mashed potatoes to a delicious pumpkin cheesecake, I was a pretty happy (and ridiculously full) camper. That being said, I did come away with a few second degree burns on account of a (literal) run-in with sweet potatoes. As a result, my right hand is slightly out of commission as it recovers from my cooking misadventures.

Now that one holiday is over, I think I’ll take the approach followed by department stores and marketing agents everywhere and turn my attention to the next holiday: Christmas. Every year, I make a wide variety of cookies to distribute to our family and friends. Sugar cookies, chocolate ganache thumbprints, birds in a nest, rugelach, coconut macaroons–the list goes on and on. This year, I plan on incorporating  peanut butter blossoms into the mix.

I first had these cookies in the first grade when one of my peers brought them in as her birthday treat (this was before peanut allergies made this impossible). I had a hard time finding a recipe I liked, however, until the spring of my junior year when studying abroad. Peanut butter is a bit difficult to find in Florence, and my friends and I found ourselves missing it (even though none of us eat it normally…it’s funny what being away from home does to your tastebuds). Sam’s mom emailed her their family recipe, her dad brought us peanut butter and a giant bag of Hershey Kisses when he visited, and we spent an afternoon happily making cookies.

Here’s hoping you enjoy these as much as my friends and I do. Happy eating!

Peanut Butter Blossom
Recipe courtesy of Sam Garbarini

Ingredients:

  • 1¾ cup AP flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup sugar + extra to roll cookies in
  • ½ cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup shortening or butter (I prefer butter in cookies)
  • ½ cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 24 to 28 Hershey Kisses

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • In a medium bowl, combine your flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  • In a large mixing bowl, cream together the sugars and butter/shortening. Add the peanut butter. Add your egg, milk, and vanilla. Stir to combine.
  • Next, add your dry ingredients to the wet mixture. Stir with a  wooden spoon until it comes together. If the dough is a little wet (as is often the case with peanut butter), you can add a bit more flour or put it in the refrigerator.
  • Roll the doll into 1-inch balls (about walnut-sized). Roll in the extra granulated sugar and place about 2 inches apart on an ungreased baking sheet.
  • Unwrap a bunch of Hershey Kisses
  • Bake 10 to 12 minutes until pale golden and just slightly cracked. Top each with a Hershey Kiss (press down slightly). At this point, you can either let them cool or place them back in the oven for an additional minute. I prefer to take them out a minute early, topping them with a chocolate, then cooking for an additional minute.

  • Allow to cool slightly before removing from the pan and allow to finish cooling on racks.

    They just kept vanishing...

  • Serve with a glass of milk.
Makes 24-28 cookies.

Leave a Reply

