Healthy Snacks

 

I had grand plans of posting about all of the different cookies I made for my study groups in the last few weeks, but, let’s face it: I don’t want to talk cookies right now. Don’t worry; I’ll post them in time for the holidays. The thing is, I’ve spent the last two weeks writing like a mad woman, outlining the entire first half of my CivPro class, and dreaming of, well, dreaming in my bed. Hell week in undergrad ain’t got nothin’ on hell week in law school.

I realized early last week, however, that grabbing something out of the vending machine or from Au Bon Pain was not going to keep me going. I often don’t want a full meal when I work, but I do like to keep a few snacks on hand so that I have enough fuel to keep working. Granted, there are times (like this past weekend) where I am so engrossed in what I am doing that I forget about eating until, say, 3pm. But, most of the time, I enjoy the comfort a few munchies–especially because they keep me from eating too much when I finally remember to have a proper meal!

So here’s a list of the snacks I whip up to make sure I have enough protein, veg, and healthy fats in my diet. I’ve excluded smoothies and parfaits because the likelihood of a smoothie tasting good after sitting around for four hours in a law school is, well, slim. That being said, those are great for when at home! Hope these help out the rest of you.

Happy Eating!

 Snacks that Won’t Break the Bank or Kill Your Diet

  • Ants on a log: the perennial childhood favorite of celery, peanut butter, and raisins. I always swap the raisins for craisins, so I guess we can call these “red ants on a log.”
  • Trail mix: Oat cereal (I use Trader Joe’s “Puffins”), dried cherries, toasted pecans, raw almonds, dark chocolate chips.
  • Chips and Guac: yay for healthy fats! Tortilla cut into eighths, sprinkled with sea salt, baked at 400 degrees F for 10 minutes OR handful of Food Should Taste Good’s Sweet Potato Chips. Homemade guacamole consisting of 1/2 ripe avocado, 1/4 jalapeno (diced), some lime juice, cilantro, and sea salt.
  • Fruit and cheese: 1 pear, sliced, with 1 oz cambozola or gorgonzola cheese (bit of a splurge); alternatively, 1 apple, sliced, with 1 oz of sharp cheddar; or 1/2 cup cottage cheese with 1 sliced plum.
  • Crackers and cheese: Yeah, I like cheese. Handful of multigrain crackers (I like these) or Triscuits, topped with a bit of low fat cream cheese and a sundried tomato.
  • Sliced peppers: just a variety of red, green, and yellow bell pepper slices.
  • Nuts: 2 oz of pecans, almonds or walnuts, lightly salted or unsalted.
  • For the chocolate lovers: dried figs or apricots, partially dipped in melted dark chocolate.
  • Granola: I just discovered and love this recipe from The Cilantropist.
And for when you’re at home:
  • Fruit parfait: greek yogurt (I love the texture of Chobani), sliced fruit (I go for berries and bananas), and a sprinkling of granola or toasted coconut. Yum.
  • Smoothies: plain greek yogurt, splash of skim or almond milk, an assortment of fruit. Who needs extra sugar?
Leave a Reply

