Chicken Piccata

I have a secret. I adore Giada de Laurentiis. I know a lot of people hate the sight of her, but I love, love, LOVE her recipes. Sure, her outfits are always a little too pristine and her hair a bit too glossy for a busy kitchen, and, yes, I sometimes joined in mocking her when watching her cooking shows. But, let’s face it: she got to cook for royalty when they made the trek to the U.S.; obviously, we think her food is good enough for a future king. So hate on haters, I will continue to lust after her mad cooking skills.

Today, I thought I would post one of my favorite Giada recipes for another kitchen staple: chicken piccata. For some reason, I once convinced myself that, contrary to everything else I knew about Italian cooking, chicken piccata was downright difficult. It isn’t. Since realizing how simple this dish is, it has made several appearances in my kitchen–especially once I saw how adaptable it was in terms of serving size.

I love this recipe because the chicken is so, so moist. I hate when chicken breast gets rubbery (I’m a dark meat person myself), and this recipe is the polar opposite. With the tangy lemon and a hint of white wine and broth, I pair this with some simple spaghetti con aglio e olio or tossed with sauteed mushrooms for guests or with a simple salad if I’m cooking for one. Regardless, it’s a dish that comes together quickly with a few pantry staples.

Happy Eating!

Chicken Piccata
Recipe adapted from Giada de Laurentiis

Ingredients:

  • ¾ to 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breast, butterflied and cut in half (can also use chicken tenderloins)
  • Scant ¾ cup flour for dredging
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • ½ cup low-sodium vegetable or chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons white wine
  • 3 tablespoons capers
  • 1/3 – ½ cup chopped parsley

Directions:

  • First, season your chicken with salt and pepper on both sides. Dredge in the flour, making sure to shake off any excess. Set aside.

  • In a large skillet, heat half the butter and half of the olive oil over medium heat. Cook half the chicken, turning each piece after they have started to brown–about 3 minutes.
  • Remove cooked chicken, then add in remaining butter and oil. Once the butter has melted, cook the remaining chicken. Remove from pan and set aside.
  • Reduce the heat to medium-low. Add in your broth, lemon juice, wine and capers and scrape up any fond (the brown bits on the bottom of the pan) that formed while cooking your chicken. Allow to reduce by about 50%.
  • Add in about ¾ of the parsley, stir, then return the cooked chicken to the pan. Coat your chicken in the sauce, turning over, and allow to cook for about 2 more minutes over low heat. Transfer to a serving platter.

  • Top with remaining parsley.
  • Serve warm.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

