Roasted Tomato and Red Pepper Soup

If you haven’t heard, it’s hurricane season.

After suffering an earthquake earlier in the week, the East Coast is now being hit by the fury of Hurricane Irene. It’s been quite a while since we’ve had a legitimate hurricane in the region, and the fear that the storm has instilled in the area’s residents was, quite frankly, a bit unexpected on my end. The lines at the grocery stores were ridiculously long, and I was quite glad that I’d gotten most of my shopping done earlier this week. The one thing I could not find, however, was a flashlight. That being said, I was able to grab one of the few candles left at CVS along with a pack of lighters so, if I lose power, I at least have that! It’ll be interesting to read casebooks by the glow of candlelight; somehow, I don’t think it’ll make them more romantic.

Whenever there’s stormy weather I instinctively reach for a bowl of soup. Now, I am not much of a soup person, and, when I have soup, I like it to be full-bodied (no weak broth for me, please!). But here’s another Rosemary-confession: I am not much of a tomato person. So the fact that one of my favorite foods in the world is tomato soup? Defies reason.

I love a good tomato soup; it just tastes so homey and comforting. This one was particularly quick and easy, but what makes it super good is the fact that it features a red pepper. I just happened to have one on hand and decided to throw it into the mix for the heck of it. I really think the pepper brought out the best in those tomatoes, because this soup is a delicious, and I can see it becoming a staple in my kitchen!

Happy eating and, to all of you on the East Coast, stay safe!!

Roasted Tomato and Red Pepper Soup

Ingredients:

  • 5-Roma tomatoes, cut into wedges
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into 1-inch planks
  • ¾ onion, cut into ½ inch slices
  • 5 cloves garlic with the skins on
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons EVOO
  • ½-¾ cup low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Remove most of the seeds from your tomato wedges. This will make your soup much smoother.
  • Transfer your tomatoes, onion, and red pepper to a large,rimmed baking sheet. Sprinkle with you kosher salt and drizzle with the olive oil. Toss together with your hands and spread out in a single layer. Arrange your garlic cloves around the baking sheet, making sure that the skins are still on.

  • Transfer to the oven and bake for 40 minutes to an hour or until the tomatoes are reduced by about half in size. Toss about halfway through cooking and keep a close eye on your garlic. If the garlic starts to ooze, remove it from the oven and set aside until the rest of the vegetables are done.

  • Remove the skins from the garlic. Place about half of your tomato mixture into a blender along with some of the garlic. Blend until there are no large chunks left, then transfer to a pot. Repeat with the remaining vegetables and garlic.
  • Place your pot on the stove over medium heat. Add in your broth; add more or less broth depending on the consistency that you like for your soup. Heat until the mixture starts to boil, then reduce to a simmer and cook for five minutes.

  • Remove from the heat and served with a grilled cheese sandwich or some toasted bread.

Serves 2.

3 responses to “Roasted Tomato and Red Pepper Soup

Leave a Reply

