Tilapia Tacos

 

Apparently, when I think contracts, I think tacos.

I’m not sure where this came from, but, while making my way through my homework this past week, I noticed a trend: every time I worked on my contracts assignments, I thought that I should make tacos for dinner. I didn’t the first night, but I finally gave in. Is this a normal occurrence? The ironic thing is that my readings had NOTHING to do with anything taco related. It was all about houses and, well, contract-y things. I think my brain is playing tricks on me. Either that or my contracts book gives off taco vibes. You decide.

Anyway, the result of my contracts-induced craving were these delicious fish tacos. They took only a few minutes to put together, and were incredibly filling. Since I’m living alone this school year, the proportions in this recipe are for just two tacos. Granted, these make fairly large tacos, so you can definitely save one for lunch the next day–just be sure that you don’t add any guacamole to it before reheating! These pack a little heat, but feel free to adjust the amount of chili powder or seasoning according to your taste. I also recommend using a fish like tilapia, which is firm and pretty sustainable–yay for being eco-friendly.

Happy eating!

Tilapia Tacos

Ingredients:

  • 1, 6-oz tilapia fillet (I used frozen fish; just be sure that you defrost it beforehand!)
  • ½ teaspoon ground cumin
  • ½ teaspoon Mexican chili powder/seasoning
  • ¼ teaspoon paprika
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • dash of black pepper
  • ¼ red pepper, cut into strips
  • ¼ onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • EVOO
  • 2 flour tortillas
  • Lime wedge
  • 1 tablespoon chopped cilantro
  • Guacamole

Directions:

  • First, pat dry your fish using a paper towel.
  • In a small bowl, combine your cumin, Mexican seasoning, salt, crushed red and black peppers.

  • Season your fish on both sides and set aside.

  • In a medium pan, heat 1 tablespoon of  olive oil over medium heat. Add in your peppers and onions, and sauté for 5-8 minutes, until tender. Remove them from the pan and set aside, leaving the oil in the pan.
  • Add in 1 teaspoon of olive oil and allow that to heat. Add in your minced garlic and allow it to perfume the oil–just under 1 minute.
  • Add in your fish and cook until the tines of a fork or a skewer inserted into the thickest part comes out warm (fish should be mostly opaque). This takes about 3 minutes per side. Remove from the pan and cut into a few pieces.
  • Heat your tortillas either in the microwave or in a pan with no oil. To assemble your tacos, layer half the fish, half the pepper and onion mixture, and half the cilantro in each tortilla. Squeeze some lime juice over each taco, and top with some guacamole.

Serves one.

Leave a Reply

