Lemony Orzo with Squash and Peas

Sorry for not blogging much this past week. I’ve just finished moving to my new apartment, and I’m officially a law student now! After messing around in the new kitchen, I think I am finally starting to get the hang of things in the new apartment. Ok; that’s a lie. I set off the smoke detector twice when I raised my oven’s temp to 375 (oy vey) on my first night, and my brand new microwave seems to be on strike. In any case, my stuff is mostly unpacked, and I *think* I’m going to survive the next ten months. Or at least that is what I keep telling myself.

I decided to make something warm and comforting to celebrate unpacking all of my things, but, with loan money still on it’s way, my budget is pretty limited. Luckily, my mother took me grocery shopping before I moved in, and I have a plethora of vegetables to tide me over until that beautiful loan check comes through!

Today’s dish is a recipe that I saw a few months back on Martha Stewart’s website, but that I just got around to making. Luckily, it’s very budget-friendly. This is a great dinner to make in a pinch without sacrificing any flavor, and I’m almost positive you have most of the ingredients in your kitchen right now. I didn’t have any white wine on hand, but, next time I make this dish, I am going to try adding some in to the shallot/butter mixture. I’ll report back on how it tastes!

Happy eating!

Lemony Orzo with Squash and Peas
Adapted from Martha Stewart
If you want to make this dish a bit creamier, consider adding in an ounce or two of fresh goat cheese. I added some to the leftovers, and the tangy flavor pairs well with the lemony orzo.

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz dried orzo
  • 2 squash/zucchini, quarted and thinly sliced
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 2½ tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons minced shallot
  • Juice (about 2 tablespoons) and zest of 1 lemon
  • ¼ – ½ cup freshly grated Parmesan
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • In a large pot, bring about 6 cups of water to a boil. Add in your orzo and allow to cook until it’s about 2 minutes from being al dente–about 7 minutes.
  • Add in the squash and peas and allow to cook until the squash is tender but still has a bite–about 2 to 3 more minutes.

  • Reserve ½ cup of pasta water, then drain your orzo-vegetable mixture. Set aside.
  • In the same pot set over medium heat, melt 2 tablespoons of butter. Once melted, add in your shallots and allow to soften–about 1 minute.
  • Add in your lemon zest and about half of the lemon juice. Allow to cook for an additional minute, then add in your orzo-vegetable mixture as well as half of the Parmesan cheese. Stir to combine and add in half of the pasta water to make sure that all of the orzo is coated.

  • Just before serving, add in the remaining cheese, butter, and lemon juice. Toss to combine and season with salt and pepper.
  • Serve warm.

Serves 3-4.

Leave a Reply

