Healthy Zucchini Fritter and Shrimp Salad

So I officially start law school next week. I’m terrified–partially for the classes and the whole finding new friends bit, but more for the large amounts of stress that stereotypically characterize 1L year. One good thing, however, is that I’ve finally signed a lease on an apartment and am slowly moving all my stuff from my mother’s house to my tiny new place in Virginia. On the plus side, I’ve gotten to pick out a new shower curtain and other odds and ends for my apartment (I love decorating). On the downside, I’m essentially oozing money  as I search for new furniture–including a new dining table to supplement my microscopic kitchen (I have no counter space). If anyone has any suggestions for good places to go furniture shopping, let me know!

Tonight, I was craving something fresh but comforting for dinner. As I’m sure most of you know, summer is the perfect time of year for a lot of vegetables, but one vegetable in particular seems to run rampant during this time of year: zucchini. It’s difficult to imagine a time this summer when we have not had at least 2 pounds of zucchini or yellow squash in the vegetable drawer.

Now, I love zucchini and squash, so I’m not complaining, but I know plenty of people who find it bland. I found this recipe  online the other day, and I’ve been eager to try it. The “fritters” are incredibly flavorful, but they are also good for you. They are very light and chock full of zucchini. I used these in a salad, along with some shrimp that my mom and I made in the grill pan. This was a great, light dinner that I am sure will be made again after school starts!

Also, I apologize for today’s pictures. I got caught up in cooking, then in eating, and kind of failed on the photo front. Woops. As always, happy eating!

Zucchini Fritters
Recipe adapted from Let’s Get Cooking

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium zucchini – grated and allowed to sit for 15 minutes in a colander
  • ¼ – ½ onion, finely diced
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon cumin
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • ¼ teaspoon chili powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • ¾-1 cup panko
  • Scant ¼ cup grated parmesan (I used less)
  • 2 tablespoons EVOO

Directions:

  • First, drain your zucchini. Squeeze out as much excess water as possible, then place in a mixing bowl.
  • Add in your other ingredients, mixing until just combined.
  • Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a nonstick skillet over medium heat. Using a scant ¼ cup of the zucchini mixture, form a patty in your hand. Transfer to your heated skillet. Repeat until your pan is full (but there is still plenty of room around the patties).
  • Cook until both sides are browned–about 3-4 minutes per side.
  • Transfer to a paper towel lined plate and repeat with the remaining zucchini mixture, heating the second tablespoon of oil for your second batch and wiping down the pan in between.
  • Serve warm.

Makes 10.

Grilled Shrimp
Recipe courtesy of my mother 

Ingredients: 

  • 1 pound medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 tablespoon ginger-garlic paste (recipe found on the Tandoori chicken post)
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon hot sauce
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • EVOO

Directions:

  • In a bowl, combine your ginger-garlic paste, paprika, hot sauce, and a sprinkling of salt and pepper. Mix together until well combined.
  • Drop in your shrimp and allow to marinate for at least fifteen to twenty minutes.
  • Heat your grill pan over medium-high heat. Grease with a little bit of olive oil on a paper towel.
  • Place half your shrimp on the grill pan and turn after about 1½ minutes per side. Cook the second side until the shrimp are completely opaque and transfer to a bowl.
  • Cook your second batch of shrimp, greasing your pan in between.

To assemble your salad:

Ingredients:

  • 6-7 grilled shrimp (you can probably add up to 2 oz, but I’m not much of a shrimp person)
  • 2 zucchini fritters
  • 1½-2 loosely packed cups spinach
  • ½ cup grape tomatoes, halved (I used the yellow kind because they were on sale)
  • ¼ cup cilantro, finely minced
  • 2-3 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1-2 tablespoons EVOO
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • First, make your vinaigrette. In a jar, combine your cilantro and lime juice. Use a spoon to lightly smash the cilantro. Add in some olive oil, salt, and pepper. Close the lid and shake the jar to combine.
  • Add your spinach to a bowl; top with the zucchini fritters, shrimp, and tomatoes, and drizzle your vinaigrette.

Serves 1.

4 responses to “Healthy Zucchini Fritter and Shrimp Salad

Leave a Reply

