Anniversary Lobster

Next week is Brandon’s and my wedding anniversary.  On the actual day, we will be on a trek through the Andes in Peru (exciting!), so we decided to celebrate this past weekend.  When we got married four years ago, we honeymooned in Bar Harbor, Maine, and while there, we, of course, enjoyed a fabulous lobster dinner.

On our honeymoon

When I was trying to figure out how to celebrate our four-year anniversary, I was trying to think of something special that we don’t do very often.  I mean, we don’t exactly shy away from making a fancy dinner on any normal weekend (e.g., here, here, and here).  Then it occurred to me: lobsters.

It ended up being perfect.  Brandon and I were both pretty tired and didn’t want to make something that required much effort, and although lobsters are, as Brandon put it, “a special occasion meal,” they actually don’t require much work.

We grabbed some ears of corn, red potatoes, and bread from the grocery, and then we went to pick out our lobsters from the neighborhood fish market.  The fish monger grabbed two lively specimens, and we toted our squirming bag home.

Somebody was pretty curious

Now, the only issue with me fixing a lobster dinner is my lack of a lobster pot.  I mean, I literally have almost every gadget and kitchen appliance known to man, but a lobster pot is, well, a bit large, and I just don’t have the space to store one in my tiny NYC apartment.  However, the largeness of a lobster pot is necessary for a traditional lobster boil.  You just don’t want to cram those crustaceans into any old pot. They need their space.

Instead of boiling the lobsters, I decided to steam them, and instead of using a pot, I decided to use a pan.  I recently steamed fish using a roasting pan and some foil, so I thought, why wouldn’t it work with lobster?  Well, it did.

Brandon and I enjoyed a delicious set of anniversary lobsters, some bubbly, and some chocolate for dessert.  What could be better?  Here’s to many more years of marital bliss ❤

Steamed Lobster with Corn and Red Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds small red potatoes
  • 2 ears of corn, halved
  • 2 lobsters (~ 1 1/2 pounds each)
  • sea salt
  • clarified butter
Instructions
  1. Fill a large roasting pan with 2 inches of water.  Place over two burners on high heat.  Bring to a boil.
  2. Generously salt water (you want it to taste like sea water).  Add potatoes.  Reduce heat to medium. Simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Add corn.  Place lobsters on top of corn and potatoes.  Cover roasting pan tightly with foil.  Steam for 10-15 minutes. Lobsters are done cooking when bright red and when the meat in the base of the tail has changed from translucent to white.
  4. Serve with clarified butter, lemon wedges, bread, lobster crackers (or nutcrackers), lobster picks, and bibs (if you’re messy).
Leave a Reply

