Bad Bloggers and the Best Cocktail of the Season (Thus Far)


Ohhh we’ve been bad, bad bloggers. It seems that the post-Dip Ball freedom that I so eagerly anticipated has not been as free as I would have liked. Presentations and papers have essentially taken over my life, and I am so ready for Easter break. Unfortunately, all of the madness means that I haven’t had time to make any exciting meals. After my mother kindly supplied me with Indian food, I’ve been a complete bum. I lived off of those, then off of takeout and a variety of things that I had lying around the house, none of which were particularly exciting and some of which I have already featured on the blog.

BUT I do want to let any Washingtonians (or visitors to this lovely city) know about a fantastic cocktail I had almost two weeks ago at The Tombs: the Strawberry Basil Lemonade. For those of you familiar with Georgetown, The Tombs is essentially our main bar. A restaurant during the day, students flock there at nights, and almost every night out features a pit stop at The Tombs. They have even established a “99 Days Club,” for those Seniors who which to demonstrate their love for the place by going every day for 99 days straight. That, my friends, is a true sign of loyalty (and of an impressive bank account).

So, as mentioned, I last went out the day after Diplomatic Ball to celebrate the success of the event with my friend Sam. I was craving a girly cocktail as I had literally been on my feet the entire night before and felt the need for a treat. After drinking some sparkling wine, I scanned the specialty cocktail menu  for this season and came across the Strawberry Basil Lemonade. Now, I love lemonade. It is the quintessential beverage of summer and, after weeks of rain and unnaturally chilly temperatures, I was ready for a reminder that spring and summer are just around the corner.

This drink is phenomenal. I kid you not. John, our trusty bartender, informed me that this was the best cocktail decision of my life. I have to say that I wholeheartedly agree. It was like happiness in a glass (I swear this sentence was not influenced by exhaustion). I had to text myself the ingredients so that I can attempt to recreate it for our Royal Wedding Watch next weekend. They are as follows:

  • Dragonberry Bacardi
  • Simple Syrup
  • Fresh Strawberries
  • Fresh Basil
  • Lemonade
  • Lemon
  • Sprite

Whoever decided to put these lovely things in a glass together was a true visionary. I’ll update this post once I successfully recreate it, but, until then, I highly recommend taking a trek to The Tombs and sampling one of these fine creations yourself.

Happy drinking 🙂

UPDATE:

Success!!! I have officially recreated the recipe. It is delicious and incredibly simple. Enjoy!

Ingredients: 

  • 1½ to 2 shots of Dragonberry Bacardi
  • 3 teaspoons simple syrup
  • ¼ cup of Sprite
  • ¼ of a lemon, cut in half
  • ½ to ¾ cup lemonade
  • 2½ strawberries, chopped
  • 3 to 4 large basil leaves, ripped (about two tablespoons)

Directions:

  • Place your strawberries in a glass along with your basil, simple syrup, and your Dragonberry rum. Mash them up a bit with the back of a wooden spoon.

  • Add in the rest of your ingredients, squeezing in a bit of lemon juice before adding in the lemon wedges. Stir to combine and adjust taste as necessary.
  • Add in a couple of ice cubes and enjoy!

Makes one cocktail.

One response to “Bad Bloggers and the Best Cocktail of the Season (Thus Far)

Leave a Reply

