Chepati


I have been insanely busy finalizing all the details for this year’s Diplomatic Ball, and my hectic schedule this semester has prevented me from visiting my family as often as I would have liked. This has led to a severe craving for my mother’s Kerala-cuisine, and I spent last night lamenting my inability to make proper Indian food. She is now bringing me yummy curries on Sunday (Thank God for my mother!).

So, to satisfy my craving until I can get my hands on some of my mom’s delicious food, I decided to try my hand at making chepati. Think of these as Indian tortillas. Ever since we were little, my sister and I have been helping our mom roll these out – although some wound up looking more like the Indian subcontinent than they did circles; I like to think my rolling abilities have improved with age. These are actually incredibly simple to make, but I have always been hesitant, as we’ve always made them with chepati flour at home. Solution: google a substitute!

They are delicious by themselves or served with any sort of curry. I ate these with the Sesame Eggplant with Tofu recipe that Megan posted a week ago. Sorry the pictures are so dark in this post; our lights are dying and our landlord has yet to bring the replacements!

Happy eating!

Chepati
Recipe adapted from All Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour + extra for rolling
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 cup warm water

Directions:

  • Whisk together your whole wheat flour, all-purpose flour and salt in a large bowl.
  • In a measuring cup, whisk together your warm water and oil.
  • Slowly pour the oil into the flour mixture, mixing until a slightly sticky dough forms (depending on humidity, you may not need all of the water).
  • Knead the dough on a floured surface until it is smooth, shape into a ball, then transfer back into the bowl. Cover with a damp paper towel and allow to rest for at least thirty minutes.
  • After the dough has rested, break of walnut-size pieces and roll into balls. Roll each in a little bit of all-purpose flour, flatten between your palms, then, on a floured surface, roll into a 6 inch circle that is roughly the thickness of a tortilla.

  • Heat a nonstick skillet on medium-high heat. When the pan is hot, cook one chepati at a time, turning after 30 seconds. It should puff up before you flip it. If you are having some trouble getting the chepati to puff up, press down a with tongs on one side.

  • When both sides have formed brown spots, remove from the pan and transfer to a hot plate.

  • Serve warm.

Makes 10.

Leave a Reply

