Chocolate-Almond Tart

I seem to have ended my pasta kick and moved on to chocolate. I don’t know how or when this happened, but something tells me that the housemates are not entirely opposed to this transition. I promise to move on to something less sugary (in my defense, I’ve eaten crazy amounts of salad for the last two weeks!). I’m thinking of making pide or attempting to recreate my mom’s recipe for tandoori chicken next time around.

In any case, I figured that the housemates and my friend Cara could use a post-spring break pick-me-up, and, knowing the food preferences of the roomies, I decided to go with something chocolate-y. The solution? Chocolate-Almond tart.

I was originally going to follow some sort of recipe, but I wound up just making one up as I went along. Now, as I’ve already noted, I am not the biggest fan of chocolate, so this wasn’t exactly my cup of tea. My housemates, however, loved this tart. I highly recommend serving with a dollop of fresh whipped cream to help cut through the dense chocolate!

Chocolate-Almond Tart

Ingredients:

For the crust:

  • 3½ tablespoons sliced almonds
  • 6 tablespoons sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter – chilled and cut into small pieces

For the ganache filling:

  • 1¼ cups heavy cream
  • 8 oz semisweet chocolate – chopped
  • 4 oz bittersweet chocolate – chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup sliced almonds

Directions:

For the crust:

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • Next, either finely chop your almonds or use a food processor until the almonds are finely ground (College life = no food processor = sad Rosemary). Transfer your almonds to a medium-sized bowl.
  • Add your sugar, salt, flour and cooca powder to the bowl. Mix to combine.

  • Using two forks or a pastry blender, cut your butter into the cocoa mixture until it is crumbly and there are no large pieces of butter left.

  • Pour the mixture into a 9-inch round tart pan with a removable bottom. Using the bottom of a measuring cup, spread out your crust and gently push it up the sides.
  • Bake in your preheated oven for 2o minutes until set. Allow to cool completely for one hour on the counter of 30 minutes in the fridge.

Directions for the filling:

  • First place your chopped chocolate in a mixing bowl.

  • In a medium saucepan, bring your heavy cream to a boil.
  • Pour the cream over the chopped chocolate and quickly stir  until the chocolate is completely melted and the mixture is smooth.

  • Stir in your vanilla extract.

To assemble:

  • Immediately after making the ganache, sprinkle your ¼ cup of almonds on the bottom of the cooled tart shell. Then, pour the ganache into your cooled tart shell. Allow to cool on the counter for two hours or in the fridge for one hour until the chocolate is set.

  • Serve with a dollop of whipped cream, some chocolate shavings, and some extra almonds.

Serves 8-12.

Leave a Reply

