Double-Chocolate Brownies


My house is oozing chocolate from its pores. 

Now, I’m not the biggest fan of chocolate. According to my housemates/almost every individual that I know, this is nothing short of blasphemy. Oops. This week, however, required chocolate. Tired after the last several weeks of the never-ending drudgery of school, I decided to treat my housemates and myself to a pan of warm brownies. I texted my friend Sam to find out what recipe she normally uses, and she suggested turning to my personal culinary goddess Martha Stewart for her version of Double Chocolate Brownies.

Oh. My. Goodness. These brownies are INSANE. The double-dose of chocolate makes these incredibly rich, so you can really only need a small piece. I recommend cutting through the chocolate with a tall glass of milk or, in the case of our house, a red wine with berry-tones. The best part of these, however, might be how quickly they come together. The batter took less than 15 minutes to prepare – and that includes the time it took to melt the chocolate and butter!

I hope that these satisfy your chocolatiest cravings. Have a happy weekend!

Double-Chocolate Brownies
Recipe taken from Martha Stewart
*Note: I am going to be a brat and say that the better the quality of your chocolate, the better your brownie. I know, I know – annoying. But, believe me, it makes a difference!

Ingredients:
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 6 oz bittersweet chocolate – chopped
  • 1½ cups of sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • ¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder, plus extra to dust your pan
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup + 2 tablespoons of all-purpose flour
Directions:
  • Preheat your oven to 350° F. Grease an 8-inch, square baking dish and dust with some cocoa powder.
  • In a double-boiler or glass bowl set over simmering water, combine your chocolate and your butter. Allow to sit for 3 minutes, then begin to stir occasionally until the chocolate and butter are melted and well-combined. Then, remove from heat.

  • In a medium-bowl, stir in your sugar.
  • Then, add in your eggs, one at a time, stirring until just combined.
  • Add in your cocoa and salt. Finally, fold in your flour.

  • Pour your batter into the prepared baking dish and bake for 35-40 minutes.

  • Serve warm!

These go quickly....be forewarned.

Makes 9 large or 16 small brownies.
Leave a Reply

