Whole Wheat Crepes with a Savory Spinach Filling


I promised that I would write about something healthy, so here you go: whole wheat crepes!

I woke up this morning wanting nothing that was readily available to me: cereal, oatmeal, eggs – they just were not cutting it. Result: make something! So, after perusing Martha Stewart’s website, the Food Network, and the inner workings of my brain (the most unorganized of the three, I assure you), I decided to make crepes.

My sister is an absolutely fantastic crepe-maker, as is my roommate H. Their crepes always turn out perfectly, but I also know that the recipes they prefer require a lot more time and a lot more effort than I was willing to devote to breakfast this morning. I happened across a recipe on the blog I Hear Exercise Will Kill You, and, with its simple steps and use of whole wheat flour, I decided to try it out.

The whole wheat flour made these crepes perfect for a savory filling. While the original recipe does not call for any sugar, I added in a tablespoon – making these ideal for sweet fillings as well. Overall, I think that the crepes were a success. I have a ton of crepes left over, which I intend to refrigerate and to either heat up in the morning for breakfast a few days this week or use for dessert on Valentine’s Day with some bittersweet chocolate, berries, and almonds….oh…that sounds good….

BUT BACK TO BEING HEALTHY: I made a quick spinach, onion, and goat cheese filling for my crepes this morning, but you can literally fill these with anything you want. I was too lazy to chop up some mushrooms, but I’m sure those would have just added to the dish. Served with a side of cherry tomatoes, this made for the perfect start to my day!

Whole Wheat Crepes
Recipe courtesy of I Hear Exercise Will Kill You

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1.5 cups milk (I used skim)
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil or any other light tasting oil (i.e. not olive oil)
  • Oil or unsalted butter to grease your pan

Directions:

  • Whisk together your eggs, milk, sugar, salt and oil. Gradually add in the flours to avoid clumping. Set aside.

Your batter...I love that you can see the wheat in there.

  • Heat a 6- to 8-inch skillet on medium-high heat. Using a little bit of oil  or a small amount of butter, grease your pan, using a paper towel to pick up any excess oil/butter.
  • Lift your pan off the heat, and, with the pan at an angle, slowly pour in about 2 tablespoons of batter, swirling the pan as you pour to coat the bottom. You are just looking for the batter to coat the bottom of the pan – too much batter makes for a very chewy crepe. Place your pan back on the range.

  • Cook on one side for about 2 minutes or until it is golden and just starting to brown in some spots.
  • Using a rubber spatula, flip the crepe and cook for about a minute on the other side (you do not want this side to brown). Slide the crepe out of the pan to a plate and repeat with the remaining batter.

 

Crepes – Just waiting to be filled!

Makes 12-18 crepes.

Spinach Filling

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1.5 cups baby spinach leaves
  • 1/2 oz crumbled goat cheese
  • 1 tsp olive oil

Directions:

  • Heat olive oil in a small skillet. Add in your onions and saute until slightly golden.
  • Add in spinach and cook until wilted. Remove from heat.
  • To assemble crepe: put half the filling in the center of a crepe, top with goat cheese, and roll from one end.

  • Repeat with a second crepe and serve with a side of fresh fruit or salad.

Serves one.

 

Share

3 responses to “Whole Wheat Crepes with a Savory Spinach Filling

Leave a Reply

