Peach Crumb Cake


I realized last night that most of my recent posts on the blog have revolved around pasta. Case in point: this, this, this, and this. So, to prove both to you and to myself that I have not lost my ability to cook other forms of food, I decided to bake tonight.

With the sight of a few snowflakes this evening, however, I knew that I would want something comforting to eat come morning, and nothing sounded better than a piece of cinnamon-y crumb cake. Being a foodie, I am obsessed with other food blogs, and one of my favorite blogs is The Crepes of Wrath. The blog is the brainchild of Sydney, a recent college grad and incredibly relatable writer. Her recipes are very user- (and budget-) friendly, and I love checking her blog throughout the week to see what delicious recipes she has shared. Today’s recipe comes straight from her blog. I’ve had it bookmarked on Safari since the day it was first posted, but never got around to making this cake. Today provided the perfect opportunity.

Unlike Sydney, I wound up using peach preserves. Weird Rosemary-fact: I hate almost all jams and jellies. I was the kid who refused to eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (just peanut butter for me, please!). To this day, I keep them around only for baking purposes. Preserves, however, are the one exception. While I am not often found spreading some on a slice of toasted bread, I do appreciate the pieces of fruit in there, and I think that the fruit added to this cake.

Results of today’s cooking venture: I can make more than pasta! Huzzah! The house smells incredible right now, and I just ate a slice of this culinary masterpiece. It is has a delicate crumb which makes for quite a moist cake. Not too shabby considering that it took all of fifteen minutes to put together.

So, again, major props to Sydney on the recipe. Be sure to check out her blog. I promise to post something slightly healthier next time around to compensate for this sugary goodness 🙂

Peach Crumb Cake

Ingredients:

For the cake:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons melted unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup preserves (I used peach)

For the crumb topping:

  • 6 tablespoons melted unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. Grease a 9×9 inch square pan. Set aside.

For the cake:

  • In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt until just combined. Set aside.

Apparently, I think that the butter knife is a whisk...?

  • In a large bowl, combine your butter, milk, and egg.
  • Gradually add in your flour mixture and mix until just combined, being careful not to overmix. Spread your batter in your pan.

  • Top the batter with spoonfuls of preserves and use a butter knife to swirl the batter into the cake.  Tap once on the counter to reduce air bubbles.

For the crumb topping:

  • In your medium bowl, combine the melted butter, sugars, cinnamon, and salt. Mix with a fork until smooth.
  • Then, add in your flour and mix with your fingertips until small clumps form.
  • Sprinkle the crumb topping on top of the batter in your pan. I wound up using about 2/3 of the topping that I made and froze the rest for later use.

I meant to take a picture before I put it in the oven...oops...

  • Bake the cake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

  • Cool completely in the pan before removing or serving.

Serves 9.

Share

Leave a Reply

