Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Coconut Cranberry Cookies

A snowy Gramercy Park

I love the snow, so I have really enjoyed this winter in New York.  For me, snow is only a nuisance when I am driving or flying.  Luckily, here in the city, I don’t have a car, and I get to walk everywhere—including to work. Above is a snapshot of my morning commute.  Not bad.

The winter weather also keeps me wanting for comfort food.  Every night, I find myself craving a big plate of pasta for dinner and fresh-baked cookies for dessert.

Well, tonight is the night.  On my way home from work, I picked up pasta from a neighborhood restaurant, and I picked up ingredients for “chocolate chunk oatmeal coconut cookies.”

I came across this lengthy-titled recipe when searching for an alternative to the typical chocolate chip cookie, and I was excited to try it. I got home, and as I started to set out all of the ingredients, I realized that I was short on chocolate.  To make up for the “shortage,” I decided to grab a handful of dried cranberries that I already had sitting on the counter.  In the end, the addition of cranberries really enhanced the flavor of the cookie.  The cookies turned out toasty, soft, and flavorful—like super-delicious (unfortunately, not nutritious) granola bars.

Fresh out of the oven

Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Coconut Cranberry Cookies (adapted from Epicurious.com)

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 6 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/4 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 cups packaged finely shredded sweetened coconut
  • 8 oz bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened), cut into 1/2-inch chunks
  • 3/4 cup almonds with skins (4 oz), toasted, cooled, and chopped
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • Directions

    Preheat oven to 375°F.

    Beat together butter and sugars in a bowl with an electric mixer at high speed until fluffy. Add eggs and beat until just blended, then beat in vanilla, baking soda, and salt. Add flour and mix at low speed until just blended. Stir in oats, coconut, chocolate, almonds, and cranberries.

    Arrange 1/4-cup mounds of cookie dough about 3 inches apart on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake in middle position and rotate pan halfway through baking, until golden, 14 to 18 minutes total.

    Cool cookies on sheets 1 minute, then transfer with a spatula to racks to cool completely. Make more cookies in same manner.

    Share

    2 responses to “Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Coconut Cranberry Cookies

    • Nbaas

      I love this post! The other day it snowed in Maine (not a rare occurence this year) and a big group of us went to this restaurant that serves handmade pasta, it totally hits the spot on these cold days. Anyway, my bf is now begging for these cookies since he read your post. Beautiful recipe. And beautiful snowy scenery:)

    • ataleofthreekitchens

      Nicole,

      These are definitely my new favorite cookies. They are amazing! I know both you, and your BF, will love them!

      Stay warm!

    Leave a Reply

