El Quinto Pino

The best part of being a New Yorker is the food.  No question.  The restaurants in this city are unbelievable, and the variety of cuisines cannot be matched.  If I am hungry for something, I can get it, and I can usually have it delivered to my door.  I know, I’m spoiled.

Last weekend, my husband Brandon and I were in the mood for Spanish tapas and went to one of our new favorite spots:  El Quinto Pino.  El Quinto Pino is located in Chelsea, and is off the beaten path.  Unless you were looking for it, you wouldn’t find it (one of the many things I love about it).  The restaurant is tiny, and menu items can only be found on large chalkboards hanging on the walls.

The menu consists of three categories:  Spanish wines (including Jerez—sherry), cocktails, and small plates.  Wine options are limited (last week, there were only two red options), but in my experience, they are well thought-out and accompany the dishes wonderfully.

The best part of tapas is the opportunity to order many different dishes.  The typical tortilla (Spanish omelette) and pulpo (octopus) are delicious, but the other, more inventive, dishes are also fun to try. Last week, we had a fantastic mini-sandwich called the “bikini”:  mozzarella, roasted red peppers, and anchovies.  Yum.

Because of its location and size, El Quinto Pino is not the “scene” that many of the city’s other tapas spots can be.  It’s remarkably chill and quiet.  It’s a great place to relax, drink good wine, eat tasty food, and catch up with close friends.

Mmmm, I suddenly have a craving for chorizo . . .

Share

2 responses to “El Quinto Pino

  • Kris Romans

    (sigh)…one of the reasons I’ve always wanted to live in NYC. The food…the restaurants…the markets…the delicatessans Very jealous! next time I’m around, I will look you up and plan on quite the dining experience 🙂

    • ataleofthreekitchens

      Yes, you and Jeff should come visit! I noticed your reference to Craftsteak the other day. The original Craft is only a 10-minute walk from my apartment . . . We’ve never been, but you guys visiting would give us a good excuse.

Leave a Reply

