Strawberry Chia Smoothie

IMG_3485

I’m currently basking in post-exam bliss. 2L is almost over (still wrapping up clinic things), and I am ridiculously excited to enjoy the warmer weather before starting work for the summer (for which I’m also excited. Yes, I am a dork). Now if only it would stop raining.

Berries made their market debut a bit earlier this year, and they are actually quite sweet! I bought some strawberries at Trader Joe’s the other day for some strawberry shortcakes (recipe coming shortly. Oh. Ha. Pun.) and decided to use the leftovers for a smoothie–my new go-to study snack when working at home. I  recently picked up a bag of chia seeds at TJ’s and threw some of them in as well. I became fascinated by chia seeds after learning they are rich in Omega-3s and fiber. Plus they are supposed to help with weight loss (always a good thing in my book) and, unlike flax seeds, you don’t have to worry about grinding them up or having them go rancid. They’ve got a pretty long shelf life and can be eaten straight out of the package. I wonder what other 90′s fads will turn out to have crazy good health benefits…

Happy eating!

Strawberry Chia Smoothie
If you’ve never had chia seeds before, be forewarned that, when they hit liquid, they form a “gel,” which gives them an interesting texture. About.com and Bob’s Red Mill inform me that this is because of the soluble fiber in the seeds. 

Ingredients:

  • 1½ cups strawberries, stems removed and quartered
  • 1 banana, cut into chunks
  • ½ cup almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla)
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons peanut butter

Directions:

  • Place everything the blender. Blend until it reaches the desired thickness. Throw in ice cubes if you like your smoothie to be more frothy.

Makes one large smoothie.

And, on a completely unrelated note, look at the pretty bowl I bought at the French Market two weeks ago! I have been fantasizing about all the summer salads I can make and serve in this bowl. Arugula, shaved parm, Persian cucumbers….Ok. I’m done.

IMG_3494

One response to “Strawberry Chia Smoothie

  • Weight loss foods

    Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

